The Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra has been inspiring, invigorating and entertaining audiences since 1948. Based in Hobart’s Federation Concert Hall, the 47-piece TSO performs an extensive and varied concert season in Hobart, a smaller season in Launceston as well as concerts elsewhere in Tasmania. The TSO enjoys a profile well beyond the shores of the island state, having taken out major national awards in recent years for performances and recordings. Further afield, the orchestra has toured Asia, Europe, North and South America and the Middle East. Eager to connect with as many Tasmanians as possible, the TSO offers a wide-ranging education and outreach program and attracts diverse audiences to its highly successful Live Sessions concerts, which are given in sheds, microbreweries and other non-traditional venues. A still wider audience has been reached though collaborations with Victorian Opera, Mona Foma and Dark Mofo. The TSO is at the forefront of nurturing the next generation of composers and conductors with intensive training programs such as the Australian Composers’ School, Australian Conducting Academy and Louise Crossley Conducting Workshop. A much-recorded orchestra, the TSO has over 80 CDs in its catalogue, including more than 20 in the Australian Composer Series on ABC Classics and 17 in the Romantic Piano Concerto Series on the British label Hyperion. For works which require choral forces, the TSO is joined by the TSO Chorus, an auditioned group of approximately 80 voices. Eivind Aadland is the orchestra’s Chief Conductor and Artistic Director.

the tasmanian symphony orchestra


Eivind Aadland

Chief Conductor & Artistic Director

Marko Letonja

Conductor Laureate

Johannes Fritzsch

Principal Guest Conductor

Elena Schwarz

Associate Conductor


Emma McGrath


Sercan Danis

Associate Concertmaster

Lucy Carrig-Jones

Principal Second

Jennifer Owen

Principal First Violin

Miranda Carson

Yue-Hong Cha

Edwina George

Elinor Lea

Michael Johnston

Christine Lawson

Alison Lazaroff-Somssich

Susanna Low

Christopher Nicholas

Rohana O'Malley


Douglas Coghill

Anna Larsen Roach

Rodney McDonald

William Newbery


Jonathan Békés 

Ivan James

Martin Penicka

double bass

Stuart Thomson

Principal Double Bass

Aurora Henrich

James Menzies


Douglas Mackie

Principal Flute

Lloyd Hudson


David Nuttall

Principal Oboe

Dinah Woods

Oboe/Cor Anglais

Andrew Seymour

Principal Clarinet

Eloise Fisher

Clarinet/Bass Clarinet

Tahnee van Herk

Principal Bassoon


Heath Parkinson

Principal Third Horn

Roger Jackson

Greg Stephens

Yoram Levy

Principal Trumpet

Mark Bain

David Robins

Principal Trombone

Mitchell Nissen

Principal Bass Trombone

Tim Jones

Principal Tuba


Matthew Goddard

Principal Timpani

Gary Wain

Principal Percussion

tso management & administration

Caroline Sharpen Chief Executive Officer
Shaunagh O’Neill Executive Assistant
Jenny Compton Learning and Engagement Executive

Sarah Morrisby Director Philanthropy
Cath Adams Partnerships and Philanthropy Executive
Brooke Everingham Philanthropy and Events Coordinator

Artistic Management
Simon Rogers Director Artistic Planning
Meriel Owen Manager Artistic Operations
June Tyzack Chorusmaster
Alexis Hargrave Chorus and Artistic Coordinator
David Horn Artist Liaison 

Business Services
John De Paoli Director Business Services
Sharon Winters Business Services Executive
Hayden Jones Business Services Officer
Amanda Elder Payroll Officer

People and Culture 
Jenny Goulding Director People and Culture

Marketing and Sales
Samuel Cairnduff Director Marketing and Communications
Robert Gibson Content Manager and Special Projects Curator
Cath Adams Partnerships and Philanthropy Executive
Darrell Jones Box Office Manager
Elisa Carminati Customer Marketing Officer
Amanda Elder Customer Service Consultant
Deirdre Paramor Customer Service Consultant

Orchestra Management
Jacqui Walkden Director Operations
Nadeena Beck Orchestra Coordinator
David Harvey Orchestra Librarian
Brian Harris Production Assistant