Sibelius Violin Concerto

Giordano Bellincampi conductor
Benjamin Beilman violin

SIBELIUS Violin Concerto in D minor, Op 47
NIELSEN Symphony No 2, Op 16, ‘The Four Temperaments’

Friday 28 July

Federation Concert Hall, nipaluna/Hobart

Strauss Horn Concerto

Violinist Benjamin Beilman held TSO audiences spellbound with his blistering interpretation of Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto in 2019. For his long-anticipated return, he appears as soloist in the intensely beautiful Violin Concerto by Sibelius. Prefacing the Sibelius Concerto is Torrent, a new work by gifted young Australian composer Harry Sdraulig.

The Symphony No 2 by Danish composer Carl Nielsen explores the ancient Greek notion of the ‘Four Temperaments’ – the belief that human personalities come in four distinct types, or humours: optimistic, irritable, melancholic and laid-back. Each temperament is considered in turn as the symphony progresses. Fittingly, the concert is conducted by Danish maestro and Nielsen champion, Giordano Bellincampi.