• Photo of Dick Shoobridge

    Dick Shoobridge


    Dick joined the board in September 2012 after a career of some 50 years as an accountant, agriculturalist and business advisor with Deloitte and earlier Price Waterhouse. Dick is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants Australia and of CPA Australia. He is a member of the Australian Institute of Agricultural Science and Technology and a graduate of Lincoln College, New Zealand and of Melbourne University. Dick has been a member of the TSO chorus for more than 10 years.

  • Photo of Tim Bugg AM

    Tim Bugg AM


    Tim was elected to the Board in May, 2016. He is a Principal and the Managing Director at Hobart-based Dobson Mitchell Allport, one of Australia’s oldest legal practices. Tim was made a Member of the Order of Australia in January 2014 for “significant service to the law, particularly through executive roles with professional legal organisations, and to the community.” A former Law Society of Tasmania President, Tim served as a member of the Law Council of Australia Executive from 2002 before becoming only the fourth Tasmanian lawyer to serve as President of Australia’s peak legal representative body, from 2006-2007. Tim holds and has held a number of other national and international roles, including as Chairman of the International Legal Services Advisory Council, as a member of the Council of the International Section of the American Bar Association and as a member of the Australian Law Schools Standards Committee of the Council of Australian Law Deans. He is a member of the Appeals Committee of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons, a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Law and chairperson of the Centre for Legal Studies. Tim serves as chairperson of the Allport Library and Museum of Fine Arts Management Committee, as a trustee of the estate of Henry Allport.

  • Photo of Janice Foster

    Janice Foster


    Janice Foster is acknowledged within her industry as one of Australia’s leading fundraising professionals and best known in that profession as Janice Wilson. With a career that spans over 30 years, she was one of the first fundraising professionals in Australia to be awarded the internationally recognised qualification for fundraising, CFRE – Certified Fundraising Executive. She has been Public Relations and Marketing Manager for St Paul’s School for the Blind and Visually Handicapped in Melbourne, and founded development offices at St Margaret’s School, Berwick, and Tintern Church of England Girls’ Grammar, Melbourne. She consulted at a national level for over 20 years initially as the first woman to be appointed as a consultant for the National Fundraising Counsel of Australia followed by ten years as an executive consultant for Fundraising Management Consultants and four years for DVA Navion. She was appointed inaugural Director of the Queensland Museum in 2002, where she remained for four years, and subsequently took up a fundraising position at the University of Queensland. In 2013 she semi-retired into fundraising consultation for Yalari – an organization funding private school education for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Island children living in remote and regional areas, and for the La Boite Theatre Company from which she left to relocate to Tasmania in 2014. She has twice been awarded state finalist in the Telstra Business Women of the Year Awards.

  • Josef Giedl


    Joe joined the board in November 2017 after a career as a geologist in Queensland, Victoria and Tasmania and subsequently as a senior project manager with a large private engineering consulting firm in Tasmania. In Queensland he was one of the key personnel in setting up an innovative remote minesite computing facility. Subsequently with the DMR in Tasmania, Joe’s diverse roles included engineering geologist, quality management facilitator, Myers-Briggs assessor and a secondment to TAFE Tasmania as manager for their META management development programme. He was a past member of the Geological Society of Australia and the Australian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy. Joe has a BSc Hons in Earth Sciences from Monash University and also a Graduate Diploma of Political Science from the University of Tasmania. Joe also spent 2 years in Japan where he was involved with road research affiliated with Hiroshima University, in particular examining the effects of land instability on road and bridge infrastructure. Joe also ran a small retail business in the centre of Hobart between 2003 and 2012.

  • Photo of Pat Leary

    Pat Leary


    Patricia joined the Foundation Board in 2015.
    For nearly 30 years Patricia was a member of the Australian Industrial Relations Commission (now Fair Work Australia), for 12 years President of the Tasmanian Industrial Commission, for some 15 years member and President of the Defence Force Remuneration Tribunal, some 14 years as Chair of the Northern Territory Police Tribunal, and for 15 years Chair of the Australian Federal Police Board of Reference. She continues as Chair of the Tasmanian Police Review Board. She is also Chair of the Red Cross Tasmania Bushfire Appeal 2013 Distribution Committee and Chair of the Centenary of ANZAC Steering Committee. She is a member of the Australian Institute of Judicial Administration, Member of the Australian Association of Women Judges, Board member of Neighbourhood Watch Australasia Inc, Secretary Neighbourhood Watch Tasmania Inc and Chair of Virtuosi Tasmania Inc. She is a former Chair of Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra Holdings Ltd.

  • John Sandow


    John’s career spans more than 30 years in agricultural research and commerce in both public and private sectors. A graduate of Monash University and the University of Western Australia, John’s early biological control work progressed to commercial roles in product management, marketing and technology adoption.

    He has managed national research programs for one of Australia’s leading agricultural suppliers and with the Grains Research and Development Corporation (GRDC). John is a past member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. He has been a Director of Cooperative Research Centres for Australian Weed Management and for Plant Biosecurity and has served on a number of research steering committees. John moved to Tasmania with his wife Chris in 2014.

  • Photo of Peter Stanton

    Peter Stanton


    Peter Stanton joined the TSOF Board in 2012. For 10 years Professor of Surgery at the University of Tasmania, he is now a surgeon in private practice in Hobart. He is an alumnus of UTAS, thereafter undertaking surgical training in Tasmania, Scotland and Hong Kong. He obtained a PhD from the University of Glasgow, and was a Senior Lecturer in that institution, and consultant surgeon in the NHS, prior to his return to Tasmania. He is a fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons, and served for some years on the governing council of that body as well as chairing its research committee, and was also a member of its Tasmanian State committee for many years. He is chairman of the Scientific and Research committee of the Cancer Council of Tasmania. In 2007, he commissioned a work for the TSO, “Oriental Rain” by Julian Yu.