Weber Clarinet Concerto

Eivind Aadland conductor
Andrew Seymour clarinet

A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Overture and Scherzo
WEBER Clarinet Concerto No 1 in F minor, Op 73
MOZART Symphony No 40 in G minor, K550

Friday 25 March
Federation Concert Hall Hobart

Saturday 26 March
Albert Hall Launceston

Weber Clarinet Concerto

Whether he’s performing within the body of the orchestra or standing out the front as soloist, Andrew Seymour, TSO Principal Clarinet, produces a rich, resonant and beautifully modulated sound, as you’ll hear when he appears as soloist in the Clarinet Concerto No 1 by Carl Maria von Weber. This dazzling concerto was written with the technical and lyrical powers of the instrument at the forefront of the composer’s mind.

The Overture to A Midsummer Night’s Dream by Felix Mendelssohn is a minor miracle – especially given that Mendelssohn was aged only 17 when he wrote it – while Mozart’s Symphony No 40 is among the greatest of 18th-century symphonies and the product of a composer at the height of his powers.

Hobart concert live streamed for subscribers