Tomasi Trombone Concerto

Elena Schwarz conductor
David Robins trombone

RESPIGHI Trittico Botticelliano
TOMASI Trombone Concerto
IVES Central Park in the Dark
COPLAND Appalachian Spring, Suite

Friday 15 July
Federation Concert Hall Hobart

Tomasi Trombone Concerto

French composer Henri Tomasi is not exactly a household name but he’s revered by brass musicians for his expertly written music for solo and ensemble brass, including his Trombone Concerto of 1956, which pays homage to various idioms, including jazz and blues. Stepping into the spotlight as soloist is David Robins, TSO Principal Trombone, who describes the concerto as ‘an exciting musical journey in which the power, warmth, lyricism and playfulness of the instrument are all on show.’

Respighi’s picturesque Trittico Botticelliano opens the concert, while the second half features music by two American legends: Charles Ives and Aaron Copland. Central Park in the Dark presents a tapestry of sounds from the ‘green heart’ of New York City while the Suite from Appalachian Spring, one of Copland’s best-loved ballet scores, is tender, tuneful and transcendent.


This concert live streamed for subscribers