Strauss Horn Concerto

Johannes Fritzsch conductor
Greg Stephens horn

MOZART Symphony No 31 in D major, K297, ‘Paris’
RICHARD STRAUSS Horn Concerto No 2 in E-flat
MELODY EÖTVÖS Hic Svnt Dracones
HUMPERDINCK arr KEMPE Hänsel und Gretel, Suite

Friday 08 April
Federation Concert Hall Hobart

Strauss Horn Concerto

The French horn is known for its warm and honeyed tone along with its technical challenges. Richard Strauss knew these qualities well; his dad, Franz, was a horn virtuoso. Greg Stephens, TSO Principal First Horn, appears as soloist in Strauss’ Second Horn Concerto, a beautifully autumnal work that celebrates the colour and character of this literally breathtaking instrument.

Mozart – Strauss’s favourite composer and a figure whose voice is reflected in the Horn Concerto – opens the concert with his commanding ‘Paris’ Symphony; while the concert finishes with the enchanting suite from Hänsel und Gretel, which was conducted by Strauss at its world première in 1893. And on the subject of premières, the concert includes a world first by Australian composer Melody Eötvös, an alumna of the TSO’s award-winning training programs.


This concert live streamed for subscribers