Dvořák’s New World

Eivind Aadland conductor
Daniel Müller-Schott cello

MAZZOLI Sinfonia (for Orbiting Spheres)
SCHUMANN Cello Concerto in A minor, Op 129
DVOŘÁK Symphony No 9 in E minor, Op 95, ‘From the New World’

Friday 4 November
Federation Concert Hall, nipaluna/Hobart

Strauss Horn Concerto

Dvořák’s ‘From the New World’ was voted the nation’s favourite symphony in the ABC Classic 100 Symphony Countdown. This richly emotive work recalls Bohemian folk music, African American spirituals, Native American poetry and German symphonic structure. It’s a concoction of old and new; nostalgia for one’s homeland together with inspiration from a new world.

Fast-forward to our own times and you’ll hear music from Missy Mazzoli – an American composer who looks further afield than Dvořák could have imagined: she composes the loops of a solar system in Sinfonia (for Orbiting Spheres).

Our program also features soloist Daniel Müller-Schott in Schumann’s only cello concerto. This expressive work is known to prioritise sensitivity above technical prowess – but if you listen closely, you’ll hear an abundance of both.

This concert live streamed for subscribers