Chopin Piano Concerto

Eivind Aadland conductor
Yeol Eum Son piano

GRENFELL Tarraleah
CHOPIN Piano Concerto No 2 in F minor, Op 21
MENDELSSOHN Symphony No 4 in A, Op 90, ‘Italian’

Friday 2 September
Federation Concert Hall, nipaluna/Hobart

Strauss Horn Concerto

Chopin was barely 20 years old when he composed his first piano concerto (though it would later be published as his second). This lyrical composition was a form of confession for his early crush on Warsaw conservatory classmate Konstantsya Gladkovska. Its wistful second movement reveals Chopin’s longing for the singer, while the final movement recalls a Polish dance. South Korean pianist Yeol Eum Son promises to reignite the passion that inspired the work in her much-anticipated debut with the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra.

The concert opens with Maria Grenfell’s Tarraleah – a moving tribute to migrant workers from war-torn Europe who helped build the earliest power stations on our island – and comes to a close with Mendelssohn’s bright and sunny ‘Italian’ Symphony.

This concert live streamed for subscribers