Cherubini Requiem

Elena Schwarz conductor
TSO Chorus

LEDGER Signal Lost*
BEETHOVEN Symphony No 4 in B-flat, Op 60
CHERUBINI Requiem in C minor

Saturday 24 June

Federation Concert Hall, nipaluna/Hobart

Strauss Horn Concerto

Cherubini’s Requiem in C minor is a large-scale choral work written in 1817 to commemorate the death of French monarch Louis XVI, who was executed during the Revolution. Cherubini was intimately acquainted with Mozart’s Requiem, having conducted the first-ever performance in Paris, and he brings to his own Requiem a power and solemnity familiar to us from Mozart’s.

Beethoven was Cherubini’s No 1 fan, so it is fitting that the two composers share the same program. Often overshadowed by the symphonies on either side of it, Beethoven’s Symphony No 4 is a treasure in its own right, packed with energy, beauty and good humour.

Elena Schwarz, conductor of this concert, has built up a strong rapport with the TSO over the years and, in addition to the works by Beethoven and Cherubini, brings her insights to Signal Lost by James Ledger.

*World première