Brahms / Tchaikovsky

Eivind Aadland conductor
Simon Trpčeski piano

BRAHMS Piano Concerto No 2 in B-flat, Op 83
TCHAIKOVSKY Symphony No 5 in E minor, Op 64

Saturday 18 November

Federation Concert Hall, nipaluna/Hobart

Strauss Horn Concerto

Commencing with a gentle dialogue between solo horn and piano, Brahms’ Piano Concerto No 2 broadens into a colossal vista – a realm where symphony and concerto are perfectly integrated. A truly monumental work, Brahms’ Second Piano Concerto finds its ideal interpreter in Macedonian soloist Simon Trpčeski, who returns to our shores after his triumphant TSO debut in 2018.

Tchaikovsky’s Fifth is one of the most luscious of symphonies. It takes hold of the listener from the very first notes – a soft, slow phrase emanating from the deepest registers of the clarinet – and builds to climaxes of massive proportions. Shaping this towering symphony is Eivind Aadland, Chief Conductor and Artistic Director.