Beethoven’s Ninth

Eivind Aadland conductor
Samantha Clarke soprano
Anna Dowsley mezzo-soprano
Samuel Sakker tenor
Samuel Dundas bass
TSO Chorus

BEETHOVEN Symphony No 9 in D minor, Op 125

Saturday 02 April
Federation Concert Hall Hobart

Beethoven’s Ninth

Our Beethoven cycle with Chief Conductor Eivind Aadland, which began in 2021, comes to a climactic close with Beethoven’s colossal Symphony No 9. This is the symphony that Beethoven wrote but couldn’t hear. It is the symphony that features a vast chorus and a quartet of vocal soloists who raise their voices in an ‘Ode to Joy’. This is the symphony that yielded five standing ovations at its première in 1824 – Beethoven observing the scenes of jubilation, with hats and hands thrown high in the air.

Beethoven’s Ninth is always an event. Its inspiring message is as relevant today as it was two hundred years ago. Join us for this powerful, moving and uplifting concert.


This concert live streamed for subscribers