Beethoven’s Emperor

Johannes Fritzsch conductor
Paavali Jumppanen piano

BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No 5 in E-flat, Op 73, ‘Emperor’
STANHOPE Cloudforms
ELGAR Enigma Variations, Op 36

Friday 2 December
Federation Concert Hall, nipaluna/Hobart

Strauss Horn Concerto

Finnish pianist Paavali Jumppanen has performed all of Beethoven’s sonatas and concertos, and now brings everybody’s favourite concerto, Beethoven’s ‘Emperor’, to Tasmania. Also on the program is Elgar’s stirring and heartfelt tribute to friends and associates, the Enigma Variations, one of the best-loved works by a composer with a gift for melody and orchestration.

Between the Beethoven and Elgar let your imagination drift in Paul Stanhope’s impressionistic Cloudforms. This gently ethereal work was commissioned for the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra in 2007 and continues to offer a moment of serenity.

This concert live streamed for subscribers