Emma McGrath

Saturday 12 Oct 2024 7:30pm
Federation Concert Hall, nipaluna / Hobart

Fanny Mendelssohn Overture in C
Saint-Saëns Violin Concerto No 3 in B minor, Op 61
Felix Mendelssohn Symphony No 5 in D, Op 107, ‘Reformation’

Conducted by Shiyeon Sung, featuring Emma McGrath on violin.

Emma McGrath, celebrated Concertmaster of the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra, steps into the spotlight as soloist in the third and final violin concerto by French composer Camille Saint-Saëns. Dedicated to Spanish virtuoso Pablo de Sarasate – one of the most lauded of violinists – the Third Violin Concerto will dazzle and delight.

Composed at a time when women were excluded from professional life, the concert opens with Fanny Mendelssohn’s only existing work for orchestra, the Overture in C, and closes with brother Felix’s Symphony No 5, ‘Reformation’.

On the podium is trailblazing South Korean Shiyeon Sung, conducting the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra for the first time.


7pm Doors open
7.30pm Start
20 minute interval
9.30pm Concludes

How to watch the concert

Purchase a ticket to see the concert in Federation Concert Hall, or watch online via TSO On Demand. Simply click ‘WATCH’ in the website menu above.


Federation Concert Hall
1 Davey Street
nipaluna / Hobart

Entry via the Hotel Grand Chancellor

Purchase tickets

Book this concert by itself or as part of a package.

Save Up To 15%

Create Your Own Package

For the ultimate flexibility you can create your own concert package. Mix and match concerts from across our season and receive the best pricing and the seats you want – the more you buy, the more you save.

Save Up To 15%

Buy Tickets

Just want this one for now? Purchase tickets at the link below.