For more than six decades the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra has been at the forefront of concert life in Tasmania.

The Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra celebrates its 70th anniversary in 2018. From the fledgling orchestra that gave its first concert in May 1948 to the award-winning, 47-piece ensemble of today, the TSO has become a much loved cultural institution and ‘a source of pride’ to 87% of Tasmanians, according to a recent survey. Recent national honours include ‘Best Symphony Orchestra Concert’ at the 2017 Helpmann Awards for the TSO’s concert version of Wagner’s Tristan und Isolde.

In addition to annual concert seasons in Hobart and Launceston, and appearances in Tasmanian regional centres, the TSO performs nationally and internationally, including a highly successful tour of China in December 2016-January 2017, in which the orchestra gave nine concerts in seven cities, including Shanghai and Nanjing. Mini TSO, a scaled-down version of the full orchestra, travels throughout the state performing for schoolchildren. A chamber-sized orchestra has performed at the Ron Barwick Minimum Security Prison at Risdon Vale, and ensembles drawn from the orchestra give concerts in hospitals, community centres and aged care facilities.

The TSO collaborates with a wide variety of organisations, such as the Museum of Old and New Art – including concerts in Mofo and Dark Mofo – Victorian Opera, and the Australian National Academy of Music.

With approximately 80 CDs in its catalogue, including 21 titles in the Australian Composer Series on ABC Classics and 16 in the Romantic Piano Concerto Series on the British label Hyperion, the TSO is known and heard nationally and internationally. TSO concerts are recorded by ABC Classic FM and are broadcast and streamed throughout the world.

The TSO is resident in Hobart’s purpose-built Federation Concert Hall. Marko Letonja is the orchestra’s Chief Conductor and Artistic Director. Johannes Fritzsch has recently been appointed Principal Guest Conductor. For works that require choral forces, the TSO is joined by the TSO Chorus, an auditioned group of approximately 80 voices. For more information on the TSO Chorus, please visit

  • Photo of Marko Letonja

    Marko Letonja

    Chief Conductor & Artistic Director


  • Photo of Emma McGrath

    Emma McGrath

  • Photo of Elinor Lea

    Elinor Lea

    Associate Concertmaster
  • Photo of Lucy Carrig Jones

    Lucy Carrig Jones

    Principal Second Violin
  • Photo of Jennifer Owen

    Jennifer Owen

    Principal First Violin
  • Photo of Miranda Carson

    Miranda Carson

  • Photo of Yue-Hong Cha

    Yue-Hong Cha

  • Photo of Edwina George

    Edwina George

  • Photo of Michael Johnston

    Michael Johnston

  • Photo of Christine Lawson

    Christine Lawson

  • Photo of Alison Lazaroff-Somssich

    Alison Lazaroff-Somssich

  • Photo of Susanna Low

    Susanna Low

  • Photo of Christopher Nicholas

    Christopher Nicholas

  • Photo of Rohana O'Malley

    Rohana O'Malley


  • Photo of Stefanie Farrands

    Stefanie Farrands

    Principal Viola
  • Photo of Douglas Coghill

    Douglas Coghill

  • Photo of Rodney McDonald

    Rodney McDonald

  • Photo of William Newbery

    William Newbery

  • Photo of Anna Larsen Roach

    Anna Larsen Roach


  • Photo of Sue-Ellen Paulsen

    Sue-Ellen Paulsen

    Principal Cello
  • Photo of Jonathan Bekes

    Jonathan Bekes

  • Photo of Ivan James

    Ivan James

  • Photo of Martin Penicka

    Martin Penicka

Double Bass

  • Photo of Stuart Thomson

    Stuart Thomson

    Principal Double Bass
  • Photo of Aurora Henrich

    Aurora Henrich

  • Photo of James Menzies

    James Menzies


  • Photo of Douglas Mackie

    Douglas Mackie

    Principal Flute
  • Photo of Lloyd Hudson

    Lloyd Hudson



  • Photo of David Nuttall

    David Nuttall

    Principal Oboe
  • Photo of Dinah Woods

    Dinah Woods

    Oboe/Cor Anglais


  • Photo of Andrew Seymour

    Andrew Seymour

    Principal Clarinet
  • Photo of Chris Waller

    Chris Waller

    Clarinet/Bass Clarinet


  • Photo of Tahnee van Herk

    Tahnee van Herk

    Principal Bassoon
  • Photo of John Panckridge

    John Panckridge



  • Photo of Heath Parkinson

    Heath Parkinson

    Principal Third Horn
  • Photo of Roger Jackson

    Roger Jackson

  • Photo of Greg Stephens

    Greg Stephens


  • Photo of Yoram Levy

    Yoram Levy

    Principal Trumpet
  • Photo of Mark Bain

    Mark Bain


  • Photo of Jonathon Ramsay

    Jonathon Ramsay

    Principal Trombone
  • Photo of David Robins

    David Robins

Bass Trombone

  • Photo of Mitchell Nissen

    Mitchell Nissen


  • Photo of Timothy Jones

    Timothy Jones

    Principal Tuba


  • Photo of Matthew Goddard

    Matthew Goddard

    Principal Timpani


  • Photo of Gary Wain

    Gary Wain

    Principal Percussion