• Photo of David Rich

    David Rich


    Dr David Rich was elected to the TSO Board in May 2008. He is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. From 2007 to 2013 he was Provost of the University of Tasmania. He previously worked at the University of New England in Armidale (NSW), Macquarie University in Sydney and the University of Exeter in the United Kingdom. He graduated with MA and PhD degrees from the University of Cambridge. He has a background as a geographer, and he has worked extensively in the field of e-learning. He is Chair of Theatre North that operates the Princess Theatre in Launceston. He has previously been a member of the Boards of the Tasmanian Academy and the Australian Maritime College. He lives in the Tamar Valley with his wife, Glenys.

  • Photo of Donald Challen AM

    Donald Challen AM

    Deputy Chair

    Don Challen AM was appointed to the TSO Board in November 2010. Secretary with the Tasmanian Department of Treasury and Finance between 1993 and 2010, he is Chairman of the Motor Accidents Insurance Board, a Director of Tasmanian Networks Pty Ltd, Trustee Director of the Retirement Benefits Fund and Senior Adviser with Flagstaff Partners. Former roles include Chairman of the Tasmanian Public Finance Corporation, Chairman of Transend Networks Pty Ltd, a Director of Hydro Tasmania, Chairman of the Tasmanian Gaming Commission, a Director of Trust Bank and a Member of the Australian Government Financial Reporting Council. He is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand, a Fellow of CPA Australia and a National Fellow of the Institute of Public Administration Australia. He holds a Master of Economics from the University of Tasmania. Don was made a Member of the Order of Australia in 2013 for significant service to economics and to public administration in Tasmania in the treasury and finance sector.

  • Photo of Peter Cretan

    Peter Cretan

    Board Member

    PETER CRETAN was appointed to the TSO Board in February. Through his family company Kriticos Nominees Pty Ltd, he has gained significant business experience in a variety of industries including tourism, hospitality, acquaculture, debt collection and property investment. He has been married to Catherine since 1986 and they have three children. Peter and Catherine are passionate about sailing and both have obtained their Licentiate of Music in piano performance. Peter is currently studying classical singing and has been a member of the TSO Chorus for ten years. ‘As an amateur musician I am very fortunate to be able to perform with a professional orchestra and I very much look forward to being able to contribute to the TSO’s prosperity through membership of the Board.’

  • Photo of Maria Grenfell

    Maria Grenfell

    Board Member

    Maria Grenfell was elected to the TSO Board in May 2009. She holds a Doctor of Musical Arts from the University of Southern California, an MA from the Eastman School of Music and an MMus from the University of Canterbury in New Zealand. She is Senior Lecturer and Co-ordinator of Composition at the Conservatorium of Music at the University of Tasmania where she has been a lecturer since 1998. A represented composer at the Australian Music Centre and SounNZ Centre for New Zealand Music, her music has been commissioned, performed and recorded by symphony orchestras and chamber groups in Australia, New Zealand and the USA.

  • Photo of Nicholas Heyward

    Nicholas Heyward

    Board Member

    Nicholas Heyward has been Managing Director of the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra since October 2001. He holds a Bachelor of Arts (Hons) from the University of Tasmania and worked in management roles in major performing arts organisations in Australia and the United Kingdom before becoming CEO of the Brisbane Biennial International Festival of Music and CEO of the Adelaide Festival of Arts. He is Chairman of Symphony Services International, a Director of Arts Management Tasmania Pty Ltd, a Member of the Theatre Royal Management Board and a Member of the National Trust of Australia (Tasmania) Members Advocacy Committee.

  • Photo of Juanita Von Stieglitz

    Juanita Von Stieglitz

    Board Member

    JUANITA VON STIEGLITZ was elected to the TSO Board in May. Her professional background is in tourism and tourism marketing. Additionally, she has extensive experience in senior corporate roles and small business, and has worked with not-for-profit organisations and government entities. Her current work is as Co-Founder and Director of Masstige Moments, which specialises in sales and marketing representation services for super-premium travel products. From 1994 to 2008 she worked for American Express in Sydney, including a period as Regional Head of Membership Travel Services aimed at AMEX’s premium consumer groups. Her board experience includes American Express Inc Wholesale Currency Services and Tourism Tasmania. For the latter, she served as Chair of the Audit Committee. She is currently a board member of Design Tasmania. Launceston-based Juanita has a passion for all things Tasmanian and an interest in travel, architecture, design, music, food and wine.

  • Photo of Timothy G Bugg AM

    Timothy G Bugg AM

    Board Member

    Tim was elected to the Board in May, 2016. He is a Principal and the Managing Director at Hobart-based Dobson Mitchell Allport, one of Australia’s oldest legal practices. Tim was made a Member of the Order of Australia in January 2014 for “significant service to the law, particularly through executive roles with professional legal organisations, and to the community.” A former Law Society of Tasmania President, Tim served as a member of the Law Council of Australia Executive from 2002 before becoming only the fourth Tasmanian lawyer to serve as President of Australia’s peak legal representative body, from 2006-2007. Tim holds and has held a number of other national and international roles, including as Chairman of the International Legal Services Advisory Council, as a member of the Council of the International Section of the American Bar Association and as a member of the Australian Law Schools Standards Committee of the Council of Australian Law Deans. He is a member of the Appeals Committee of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons, a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Law and chairperson of the Centre for Legal Studies. Tim serves as chairperson of the Allport Library and Museum of Fine Arts Management Committee, as a trustee of the estate of Henry Allport.